Free LLM API comparison at a glance
This snapshot was checked on September 8, 2026. Limits can vary by model, account, region, and demand; use the provider’s linked documentation as the final authority.
The card, commercial-use, and OpenAI-compatibility labels use the Free LLM API Hub comparison as a secondary cross-check.
| Provider | Free access and published quota | Card/payment condition | API shape | Terms signal | Main catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google AI Studio | Gemini models vary: 5–30 RPM and 15–1,000 RPD; Gemini 2.5 Flash example: 10 RPM / 250 RPD | No card listed; account and project verification may apply | OpenAI-compatible in the verified comparison | Commercial use listed as OK; confirm current terms | Google says active limits must be checked in AI Studio |
| Groq | Representative qwen/qwen3.6-27b: 30 RPM / 1,000 RPD / 8,000 TPM / 200,000 TPD | Free Plan does not require a paid upgrade; Developer tier requires a payment method | Yes, mostly | Commercial use listed as OK; Free Plan limits differ from paid capacity | Limits apply at organization and model level |
| OpenRouter | Free variants: 20 RPM / 50 RPD below $10 purchased credits; 1,000 RPD after at least $10 purchased | Basic free route needs no card; credits unlock a higher cap | Yes, normalized to OpenAI Chat API | Commercial use listed as OK; free model availability changes | The larger daily allowance is purchase-conditioned |
| Cloudflare Workers AI | 10,000 Neurons/day, shared across the account; resets at 00:00 UTC | Basic allocation is free; selected models require paid billing | OpenAI-compatible in the verified comparison | Commercial use listed as OK; model eligibility varies | Neurons measure compute, not a fixed token quota |
| Cerebras Inference | Free Trial: 5 RPM / 30K uncached TPM / 90K total TPM / 1M TPD for listed models | Verified payment method required | Not established in cited docs | Trial access; credits expire after 30 days | $5 trial credit is not permanent |
| SambaNova Cloud | Free Tier: 20 RPM / 20 RPD / 200,000 TPD for listed models | No payment method on Free Tier; linking one activates paid Developer Tier | Yes, with documented differences | Commercial use listed as OK; check model terms | The 20 RPD limit is restrictive |
| Cohere | 1,000 calls/month; Chat 20 RPM, Embed 2,000 inputs/min, Rerank 10 RPM | No card listed in the verified comparison; confirm at signup | OpenAI-compatible in the verified comparison | Evaluation only in the verified comparison | Calls are not interchangeable with tokens |
| Z.AI | GLM-4.7-Flash and GLM-4.5-Flash listed at $0 for displayed token categories; public RPM/TPM not stated | No card listed in the verified comparison | OpenAI-compatible in the verified comparison | Commercial use listed as OK; verify model terms | $0 per token does not reveal capacity |
| NVIDIA NIM | Free Inference Endpoints for prototyping; no universal quota on the landing page | Payment condition varies by endpoint; verify the model page | Not established in the cited docs | Prototype/evaluation signal on the cited page | A free landing-page label is not a published quota |
| Hugging Face Inference Providers | Free users receive $0.10/month in credits, subject to change; no RPM/TPM published | Card condition not stated in official pricing docs | OpenAI-compatible in the verified comparison | Check provider and model terms | This is a small credit, not a request quota |
| Mistral Studio | Studio Free mode; no public quota on the documentation homepage | Card condition not stated on the homepage | OpenAI-style endpoint documented; full parity not claimed | Try-and-explore/evaluation signal; verify terms | Free mode is not proof of unlimited or production-ready access |
Do not rank rows by the largest number. Requests, tokens, calls, dollars, and Neurons are different units; an expiring trial is not a renewing allowance.
For image, speech, embeddings, and other modalities, see the broader free AI API comparison. This page stays focused on hosted LLM inference.
Providers with the clearest recurring or no-card access
Google AI Studio: the practical general-purpose starting point
Google’s official rate-limit documentation says Gemini quotas are model- and project-specific. It identifies RPM, input TPM, and RPD as common dimensions, says quotas apply to the Google Cloud project rather than each API key, and directs developers to AI Studio for active values. Daily request quotas reset at midnight Pacific time.
A secondary verified comparison reports 10 RPM and 250 RPD for Gemini 2.5 Flash, with 5–30 RPM and 15–1,000 RPD across models. Treat these as planning figures because Google says active limits vary and are not guaranteed.
Use Gemini for general and multimodal prototypes; model-specific daily caps may limit request-heavy workloads.
Groq: the strongest no-card option by published request quota
Groq’s rate-limit documentation lists limits by model and organization. The current Free Plan row for qwen/qwen3.6-27b shows 30 RPM, 1,000 RPD, 8,000 TPM, and 200,000 TPD. Other models have different daily and token ceilings.
“Rate limits apply at the organization level, not individual users.” — Groq rate-limit documentation
Multiple API keys do not automatically create independent organization-wide capacity. Groq’s documentation describes retry-after and x-ratelimit-* headers for handling HTTP 429 responses.
Groq is the clearest starting point for frequent small requests when its selected model supports your task. Check the exact model row instead of treating the provider-level label as one quota.
OpenRouter: the most flexible free-model gateway
OpenRouter provides one API surface for a changing selection of free model variants. Its current free-access comparison reports 20 requests per minute and 50 requests per day while the account has purchased less than $10 in credits. After at least $10 in lifetime purchased credits, the daily allowance rises to 1,000 requests. The higher cap therefore requires a purchase.
The official limits documentation explains that additional accounts or API keys do not change the platform’s global rate limits. The service exposes quota information through the key endpoint and rate-limit error headers.
You can pin a model with a :free suffix or use openrouter/free, which selects an available free model automatically. The router can filter for capabilities such as tool calling or image understanding, but the underlying model can change.
Use OpenRouter for experiments and fallback routing, not an application that depends on one free model’s stable behavior.
Cloudflare Workers AI: recurring compute, not free tokens
Cloudflare’s official pricing page gives each account a total 10,000-Neuron daily allocation at no charge. The allowance is shared across Workers AI activity and resets at 00:00 UTC. On the Workers Free plan, further operations fail after the allocation is exhausted.
A Neuron represents the GPU compute needed for a request. Cloudflare publishes model-specific token equivalents rather than promising that 10,000 Neurons equals a fixed number of prompts.
Cloudflare also says selected newer DeepSeek, GLM, and Kimi models require a paid billing method. “10,000 Neurons free” does not mean every model is available without billing.
Free access with a catch
Cerebras: a useful trial, not a permanent free API
Cerebras’ rate-limit documentation lists 5 RPM, 30,000 uncached TPM, 90,000 total TPM, and 1 million TPD for the listed Free Trial models. It also explains that its token bucket replenishes continuously rather than waiting for a simple daily reset.
New accounts receive $5 in free credits, the credits expire after 30 days, and a verified payment method is required to activate Playground and API access. When the credit expires or runs out, access stops unless you purchase more. The checked documentation does not describe a permanently renewing public free allocation.
Cerebras works for a short evaluation. It should not be the only dependency for a project that must run after the trial period.
SambaNova Cloud: the clearest billing-status boundary
SambaNova defines its Free Tier by billing status: it applies when no payment method is linked. For the listed Free Tier models, the official documentation shows 20 RPM, 20 RPD, and 200,000 TPD. The 20 RPD limit can stop a polling-heavy workflow before the token allowance is used.
Linking a payment method activates the Developer Tier, which is paid and should not be counted as free. SambaNova also exposes remaining-request and reset information through response headers.
Use SambaNova only for low-volume proofs of concept: its 20 RPD ceiling needs validation before any agent workflow.
Cohere: useful for RAG, but count calls carefully
Cohere’s trial key is different from a token-based free tier. The current verified comparison reports 1,000 calls per month, with endpoint-specific limits of 20 RPM for Chat, 2,000 inputs per minute for Embed, and 10 RPM for Rerank. Cohere’s FAQ describes trial keys as free but limited.
That combination makes Cohere useful for retrieval-augmented generation experiments: one project can test generation, embeddings, and reranking. It does not make the trial a high-volume chat backend. Do not compare 1,000 calls/month directly with 1 million tokens/day.
The verified comparison labels the trial as evaluation-only. Confirm the current usage policy before using it for a public or commercial application.
Z.AI: free pricing is not a known quota
Z.AI’s pricing documentation lists GLM-4.7-Flash and GLM-4.5-Flash as free for the displayed token categories. The checked public pricing page does not provide a concrete RPM, RPD, TPM, or TPD figure.
Treat Z.AI quota as unknown: it may suit manual testing but not batch work; verify endpoint, model availability, and terms at signup.
NVIDIA, Hugging Face, and Mistral: discovery routes with incomplete quota data
| Provider | Free access signal | Missing public quota | Practical use |
|---|---|---|---|
| NVIDIA NIM | Free Inference Endpoints for prototyping | No universal RPM, token allowance, card rule, or overage price on the landing page | Test a selected endpoint, then read its model-specific terms |
| Hugging Face Inference Providers | $0.10/month in Free-user credits, subject to change | No comparable RPM or TPM quota | Small routed-model experiments without managing GPU infrastructure |
| Mistral Studio | Studio Free mode and API quickstarts | No quota or card rule on the documentation homepage | Try Mistral API features before committing to a paid setup |
Which free LLM API should you choose?
| Your priority | Best starting point | Why |
|---|---|---|
| General-purpose prototype | Google AI Studio | Gemini provides a clear general baseline; active limits are visible in AI Studio |
| Frequent small requests | Groq | Published model-specific Free Plan rows and a 1,000 RPD example |
| Many models through one API | OpenRouter | Free variants, routing, and an OpenAI-style interface |
| Cloudflare-native application | Workers AI | Recurring 10,000 Neurons/day allocation |
| Largest stated trial token figure | Cerebras | Up to 1M TPD, but only in a 30-day, card-gated trial |
| Strict no-payment-method setup | Groq first; SambaNova for very low volume | SambaNova’s Free Tier has a 20 RPD ceiling |
| RAG components | Cohere | Chat, Embed, and Rerank share one trial-key ecosystem |
| Testing GLM Flash | Z.AI | Displayed token price is $0, but public quota is unknown |
| Open-model discovery without a GPU | Hugging Face | Routed access plus $0.10/month for Free users |
Start with one provider and log four fields on every request: model ID, HTTP status, token usage, and remaining-limit headers. Add a second provider only after you know which limit the first route reaches; using multiple keys does not necessarily create more capacity.
How to verify a free LLM API before using it
Before launch, verify five things:
- Quota unit: Is the offer measured in requests, tokens, calls, dollars, or compute units?
- Reset behavior: Does it reset at a UTC or Pacific-time boundary, replenish continuously, renew monthly, or expire once?
- Scope: Is the limit attached to the model, project, account, or organization?
- Payment condition: Does adding a card unlock more capacity, activate a paid tier, or become mandatory for the trial?
- Terms and failure path: Is the offer limited to testing or evaluation, and does the client handle HTTP 429 without creating a retry storm?
Free LLM API FAQ
Which free LLM API is best overall?
Google AI Studio suits general prototypes; Groq suits higher free request volume; OpenRouter suits model variety.
Can I use a free LLM API without a credit card?
Yes. Google, Groq, OpenRouter’s basic route, Cloudflare’s basic allocation, and SambaNova’s Free Tier are listed as no-card options in the verified comparison. Cerebras requires a verified payment method for its Free Trial.
Are free LLM APIs really permanent?
Some recurring tiers remain available while their terms last, but trials, promotional prices, and rotating :free routes are not permanent provider-wide allowances. Check the current documentation and model status before depending on one.
Can I use a free LLM API in production?
Do not use one as your sole backend unless its current terms, quota, and model availability meet your production requirements.
What happens when I hit the free limit?
Providers normally return a throttling or quota error. Groq documents HTTP 429 handling, Cloudflare says further operations fail after the daily Free-plan allocation, and Cerebras stops trial access when its credit expires or runs out.