A production voice agent needs a contract, not a polished demo. This article compares the GPT-Live-1 API announced by OpenAI with the documented gpt-realtime-2.1 API model, not ChatGPT Voice with a developer endpoint. GPT-Live-1 is the more compelling candidate for interruption-heavy agents; GPT-Realtime-2.1 remains the lower-risk starting point until your own transport, tool, billing, and fallback tests prove the difference matters.
What changes in the live interaction loop
GPT-Live-1 is built around continuous listening and speaking, while GPT-Realtime-2.1 is a reasoning model with audio input/output, interruption handling, and configurable reasoning effort in the OpenAI Realtime model reference.
| Production concern | GPT-Live-1 | GPT-Realtime-2.1 |
|---|---|---|
| Interaction design | Full-duplex continuous processing | Realtime speech-to-speech with session events |
| Pause and barge-in behavior | Designed to listen while speaking and distinguish pauses from turn completion | OpenAI lists improved silence, noise, and interruption handling over Realtime-2 |
| Backend work | Can delegate reasoning and tools to another model or harness | Function calling is supported inside the model/API workflow |
| Transport/session surface | OpenAI describes WebRTC media and asynchronous delegation; verify current session events | Verify WebRTC, WebSocket, and SIP requirements in current docs |
| Telephony | OpenAI positions it for phone agents | Confirm the required telephony path in current Realtime documentation |
| Public API status | Announced as available on September 10, 2026 | Documented model page and API path |
The difference matters when users do not speak in clean alternating turns. OpenAI says GPT-Live-1 processes incoming audio while generating output, deciding whether to speak, pause, keep listening, interrupt, or invoke a tool. Its engineering account of GPT-Live describes a dedicated media path that keeps slow tools and application logic from blocking audio.
GPT-Realtime-2.1 also handles silence, noise, and interruptions; test pauses, overlap, and self-corrections rather than scripted turns alone.
What changes behind the voice layer
GPT-Live-1 separates voice from reasoning, letting developers connect it to a backend model such as GPT-6 Astra or a third-party harness. The voice layer can keep conversation moving while tools or inference run asynchronously, according to OpenAI’s API announcement.
GPT-Realtime-2.1 gives teams a more conventional contract: audio and text input/output, image input, configurable reasoning effort, and function calling. That is easier to plan when one documented model target matters more than a modular voice-plus-backend design.
Keep permissions, confirmations, and failure handling in application code; speech must not directly authorize payments, account changes, medical workflows, or identity decisions.
GPT-Live-1 vs GPT-Realtime-2.1: verified contract table
These facts come from OpenAI’s API release announcement and GPT-Realtime-2.1 model reference. “Not stated” means the cited source does not publish an equivalent field.
| Contract field | GPT-Live-1 | GPT-Realtime-2.1 |
|---|---|---|
| Model/API name | GPT-Live-1; API availability announced September 10, 2026 | gpt-realtime-2.1 |
| Primary design | Full-duplex voice front end | Reasoning model with tool use and speech-to-speech |
| Backend reasoning | Developer-selectable; GPT-6 Astra is an example | Configurable reasoning effort in the model |
| Audio | Input and output | Input and output |
| Text | Transcripts and response text | Input and output |
| Image input | Not stated in the release announcement | Supported |
| Video | Not stated | Not supported |
| Function/tool use | Delegation and tool calls; verify current event contract | Function calling supported |
| Context window | Not stated | 128,000 tokens |
| Maximum output | Not stated | 32,000 tokens |
| Price | $0.05/minute for the front-end voice layer, backend extra | Text: $4/M input, $0.40/M cached input, $24/M output; audio: $32/M input, $0.40/M cached input, $64/M output |
| Rate limits | Not stated | Tier 1: 200 RPM/40,000 TPM; Tier 5: 20,000 RPM/15M TPM |
| Structured outputs | Not stated | Not supported |
| Fine-tuning | Not stated | Not supported |
| Knowledge cutoff | Not stated | September 30, 2024 |
GPT-Live-1’s $0.05/minute covers the front-end voice layer; include backend and other call costs in your total. GPT-Realtime-2.1’s token rates require call-level measurement before conversion to minutes.
Choose by production scenario
Customer support and telephony
Choose GPT-Live-1 when natural barge-in, long pauses, and background speech drive customer satisfaction and your team can operate a modular backend. OpenAI positions it for reservations and support, and its release benchmark reports a 30-point Full Duplex Bench improvement over GPT-Realtime-2.1. That is an OpenAI-reported comparison, not independent replication.
Choose GPT-Realtime-2.1 for a known model target, explicit function calling, published limits, and a shorter controlled pilot. It fits workflows where clear events matter more than adopting a newer voice contract.
Browser assistants and education
GPT-Live-1 fits tutoring, coaching, and hands-free assistance where a learner pauses, changes direction, or talks over the assistant. OpenAI reports that Speak saw almost 80% fewer interruptions during learner thinking pauses than previous turn-based systems; that customer evaluation is not a universal guarantee.
GPT-Realtime-2.1 remains practical for a browser MVP because its documented Realtime path gives engineers a concrete integration target. Test noisy rooms and slow speakers, not only scripted sentences.
Structured workflows and constrained actions
GPT-Realtime-2.1 is the better initial choice when the agent must accept images, call functions, and operate under published prices and tier limits. Because structured outputs are unsupported, validate tool arguments and business state in application code.
GPT-Live-1 is more attractive when delegated reasoning lets the voice layer continue while the backend works. Keep sensitive confirmations outside the model in an explicit product control or bounded confirmation event.
The cost and reliability checks that can reverse the verdict
Before committing, measure these five things on representative calls:
- First useful response: time from the user’s final speech segment to the first helpful spoken response.
- Barge-in recovery: whether the agent stops, preserves the correction, and avoids stale audio.
- Tool completion: success, timeout, cancellation, and confirmation rates separately from voice latency.
- Cost per completed task: include all voice, backend, tool, telephony, and infrastructure costs.
- Long-session degradation: context growth, reconnects, compaction, and handoff after 15-, 30-, and 60-minute calls.
GPT-Realtime-2.1’s model page warns that higher reasoning effort can increase latency and output-token usage. GPT-Live-1’s modularity creates a similar trade-off: a cheaper backend can increase retries, clarifications, or escalations. Switch only when the full-duplex or latency gain improves completed-task success enough to offset backend, migration, and operational cost.
Verify endpoint-specific retention, recording, abuse-monitoring, regional availability, and enterprise controls before storing voice data. ChatGPT Voice policies should not be assumed to apply to the API.
A migration plan that keeps both options open
A Realtime-first implementation can remain compatible with GPT-Live-1 if the product layer avoids provider-specific event names.
- Put the provider behind an adapter and keep
gpt-realtime-2.1in configuration. - Normalize events such as
user_audio_started,assistant_audio_started,assistant_interrupted,tool_requested,confirmation_required, andsession_ended. - Store raw provider events beside normalized events for debugging.
- Keep cancellation, interruption, and call termination as separate states.
- Authorize tools in application code, with timeouts and human handoff.
- Test overlapping speech, long pauses, background conversations, alphanumeric strings, tool failure, reconnects, and mid-sentence corrections.
- Run both models against the same scripts and backend tools before changing the production default.
OpenAI’s engineering post describes shadow testing, geography-aware capacity planning, and full-system concurrency as important because GPU throughput alone did not predict production voice quality.
FAQ
Is GPT-Live-1 the same model as GPT-Realtime-2.1?
No—GPT-Live-1 is a delegated full-duplex voice system, while GPT-Realtime-2.1 is a separately documented reasoning model.
Which model should a new production voice agent use?
Start with GPT-Realtime-2.1 for the documented path; choose GPT-Live-1 when interruption quality and backend delegation justify a pilot.
Does GPT-Live-1 support tools and backend models?
Yes. OpenAI says GPT-Live-1 can delegate reasoning, actions, and tool calls; verify the current event schema and permission model before implementation.
Is GPT-Live-1 cheaper?
Not necessarily. GPT-Live-1 costs $0.05 per front-end minute before backend costs; GPT-Realtime-2.1 publishes token rates, including $32/M audio input and $64/M audio output. Compare cost per completed task on your calls.
Choose GPT-Live-1 for interruption-heavy calls that benefit from delegated backends; choose GPT-Realtime-2.1 when a documented, single-model contract is the priority.